Newberys  by  Date

Explore Newbery books by major decade:

The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo - 2004 Medal*
Crispin: The Cross of Lead by Avi - 2003 Medal
A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park - 2002 Medal*
A Year Down Yonder by Richard Peck - 2001 Medal*
Bud, Not Buddy Christopher Paul Curtis - 2000 Medal*









Holes by Louis Sachar - 1999 Medal*
A Long Way from Chicago by Richard Peck - 1999 Honor*
Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse - 1998 Medal*
Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine - 1998 Honor*
Lily's Crossing by Patricia Reilly Giff - 1998 Honor*
Wringer by Jerry Spinelli - 1998 Honor*
The View from Saturday by E.L. Konigsburg - 1997 Medal
A Girl Named Disaster by Nancy Farmer - 1997 Honor
The Midwife's Apprentice by Karen Cushman - 1996 Medal
The Watsons Go to Birmingham:1963 by Christopher Paul Curtis - 1996 Honor
Yolanda's Genius by Carol Fenner - 1996 Honor
The Great Fire by Jim Murphy - 1996 Honor
Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech - 1995 Medal
Catherine, Called Birdy by Karen Cushman - 1995 Honor
The Giver by Lois Lowry - 1994 Medal
Crazy Lady by Jane Leslie Conly - 1994 Honor
Dragon's Gate by Laurence Yep - 1994 Honor*
Eleanor Roosevelt: A Life of Discovery by Russell Freedman - 1994 Honor*
Missing May by Cynthia Rylant - 1993 Medal
The Dark-Thirty: Southern Tales of the Supernatural by Patricia McKissack - 1993 Honor
Shiloh by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor - 1992 Medal
The Wright Brothers: How They Invented the Airplane by Russell Freedman - 1992 Honor
Number the Stars by Lois Lowry - 1990 Medal*
The Winter Room by Gary Paulsen - 1990 Honor
Return to Top


In The Beginning: Creation Stories from Around the World by Virginia Hamilton - 1989 Honor
Lincoln: A Photobiography by Russell Freedman - 1988 Medal
Hatchet by Gary Paulsen - 1988 Honor
On My Honor by Marion Dane Bauer - 1987 Honor
Volcano: The Eruption and Healing of Mount St. Helens by Patricia Lauber - 1987 Honor
Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan - 1986 Medal
Dogsong by Gary Paulsen - 1986 Honor
Commodore Perry In the Land of the Shogun by Rhoda Blumberg - 1986 Honor
The Sign of the Beaver by Elizabeth George Speare - 1984 Honor
A Gathering of Days: A New England Girl's Journal, 1830-32 by Joan W. Blos - 1980 Medal
Return to Top

Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson - 1978 Medal
Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor - 1977 Medal
My Brother Sam is Dead by James Lincoln Collier & Christopher Collier - 1975 Honor
The Slave Dancer by Paula Fox - 1974 Medal
Julie of the Wolves by Jean Craighead George - 1973 Medal
Sing Down the Moon by Scott O'Dell - 1971 Honor
Sounder by William H. Armstrong - 1970 Medal
Return to Top

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg - 1968 Medal
The Black Pearl by Scott O'Dell - 1968 Honor
Shadow of a Bull by Maia Wojciechowska - 1965 Medal
Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O'Dell - 1961 Medal
My Side of the Mountain by Jean Craighead George - 1960 Honor
Return to Top

The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare - 1959 Medal
Rifles for Watie by Harold Keith - 1958 Medal
Courage of Sarah Noble by Alice Dalgliesh - 1955 Honor
Banner In The Sky by James Ullman - 1955 Honor
Secret of the Andes by Ann Nolan Clark -1 953 Medal
Amos Fortune, Free Man by Elizabeth Yates - 1951 Medal
The Door in the Wall by Marguerite de Angeli - 1950 Medal
Return to Top

1940s and Earlier
Johnny Tremain by Esther Forbes - 1944 Medal
The Matchlock Gun by Walter Edmonds - 1942 Medal
Indian Captive: The Story of Mary Jemison by Lois Lenski - 1942 Honor
Call It Courage by Armstrong Sperry - 1941 Medal
Davy Crockett by Constance Rourke - 1935 Honor
The Dark Frigate by Charles Hawes - 1924 Medal
Return to Top

Main Menu
By Award Year
By Title
By Theme
Developed by Annette Lamb on October 15, 1998.
Updated 1/04.